Lazy Mondays: Steak and Vegetable Bowls, or the story of how I shattered my olive oil dispenser

I was feeling very lazy on a Monday, so instead of portioning all of the dishes out individually,  I decided to throw it all together in a bowl.  Additionally, I also managed to break my glass olive oil dispenser.  As my mom says, granite counters are actually rocks.  Rock beats glass every time, in case anyone is wondering.  While I was sautéing my vegetables, I had to take a brief break due to mild olive oil-related injuries.  Thank goodness my roommate was there to flip my steak and make sure my veggies didn’t burn while I doctored myself.  As an aside, vasoline helps stop bleeding and gauze and butterfly tape (the kind that sticks to itself and is spongy) is the best way to go if you’ve got a bigger-than-a-band-aid cut.  Told you things were going to be an adventure…

Steak, Vegetable, and Cous Cous Bowl:
  • 1 pkg carrot noodles.  These can usually be found in the produce section, near the packaged salads.  Alternatively, you can also buy a package of carrots and julienne them yourself.
  • Squash noodles.  If super lazy, you can also turn them into squash “fries”–cutting them like skinny fries.  1/2-1 squash per serving
  • 1/2 c Cous cous
  • 1/2 c water
  • 2 tbsp olive oil, divided
  • 2 tbsp Lemon juice
  • Steak–cut and size are dealer’s choice.  I have about 4-6 oz of sirloin.
  • Fresh basil to taste
  • Oregano to taste
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2-3 tbsp Parmesan cheese
Serving sizes:  The cous cous is for about two or three servings, based on personal preference.  The vegetables need to be cooked for consumption that night–but you can buy several squash or carrot noodles ahead of time and keep in the refrigerator.  If you are going to keep the squash, be sure to add a paper towel to the container to absorb some of the moisture since squash are water- based.
Preheat oven to 350.  Steak seasonings are personal preference, but I was feeling Mediterranean-inspired so I went with salt, oregano, and some garlic.  For rare/medium-rare steak, cook for 6-8 minutes each side.  Let rest.  **Disclaimer:  I have no grill, so this is one of my only options to have steak**
Meanwhile, add ½ c water and 1 tbsp of olive oil to a medium sauce pan and bring to a boil.  Add cous cous, cover, and remove from heat.  Let stand for 10 minutes, then fluff with fork. Set aside.
In the meantime, add 1 tbsp of olive oil and 1 tbsp of lemon juice, along with carrot and squash noodles to sauté pan.  You want about a palm-size serving of veggies, maybe more if you’re feeling ambitious.  Turn stove on medium-high and add salt.  Saute for about 6 minutes, or until slightly tender.  Remove from heat.
To make bowl:  Add cous cous (a little under ¼ c), drizzle with 1 tbsp lemon juice and add 1-2 Tbsp of Parmesan cheese.  Top with veggies (about ½ c) and add sliced steak to top.  Enjoy!

The other benefit of making this into a bowl?  Fewer dishes to clean up.  Yes, it’s that kind of Monday.

Leave a Reply

